Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Having troubles with ssh

Default Having troubles with ssh
    Okay, I'm new at all this stuff and have also read the faq. I have a jailbreaked, AT&T service phone. Trying to get the NES emulator on but don't know the first thing on how to do. Tried the guides, but it seems that even the guides are a few steps in front of me.
    Anyone wanna shed some light on what I have to do?

Thanks!

Install OpenSSH on your phone. Download WinSCP to your computer. Make sure you have wifi. Connect your phone to your wifi network.

Click on Settings>Wifi>*your network* .. the little blue arrow. Take note of your IP address

Open WinSCP. First box, the large one (I forget it's title), input your phones ip. Username = root. Password = alpine. (If you're using 1.0.2 firmware, the password is dottie) Click the drop down in WinSCP (When you first log in, it will say it hasn't gotten a response, just wait. Then click yes when it asks). Go to /(root). Double Click Applications. Drag and drop your NES.app into the Applications folder. Then right click the folder, and go to properties. Make sure it says permissions 0755. Then go into the NES.app folder, and select ALL files at once, and right click, properties. Again, make sure that these say 0755. If there is another folder in the NES.app folder, double click it, and do the same for all the files in there as well. Once they are all 0755, reboot the phone.

i jailbreaked my phone today by jailbreakme.com Everything seems to work fine. I've been reading that most of ppl have OpenSSH & Client installed. Can someone explain what is it use for? I tried to install but Error pop ups saying "You must install BSD Subsystem package first." What does BSD does? Thanks.. i'm kinda new to jailbreak.