Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Iphone Unlock service provider help (First timer)??

Default Iphone Unlock service provider help (First timer)??
    Hey guys, Im totally new to this unlocking and there seems to be so many different ways to do it and i just wanna make sure i dont mess this phone up (brick or whatever its called). wondering if someone can guide me in the right direction. I had a iphone 3g (fido carrier) but it got stolen. I just picked up another Iphone 3g (Rogers Carrier), Just did a factory restore but since its locked to rogers carrier, my Fido sim card doesn't work. So i have to jail break it, unlock, then restore my old iphone backup (ie contact, games, photo,etc)??? is this in the right order??
    does it matter which firm where was installed at the time on the iphone that got stolen. Do i have to have the same firmware on this new one ?
    can someone provide me some links tutorial to what i have to do from here.

thanks.
    Last edited by hastyle; 2011-09-19 at 10:22 PM.

first thing you need to do is find out your firmware/baseband version. but really, your baseband version is key to know if you can do a software or hardware unlock. you can find this info in your settings, about. then go to the sticky in this section (unlocking) and check against that list. check your phone type vs firmware/baseband. from there you'll know right away if you can jb and or unlock.

what's your baseband? and I've never heard of that carrier before!

Retired Moderator
    Thanks
    Thanked 2,202 Times in 1,924 Posts

Yes you could just restore from backup, jb, and unlock. But like the previous user said, whether you can unlock or not depends on your baseband version. For an iPhone 3G the bootloader can play a role if it is the right one.

So find out with F0recast:
    1) bootloader (5.8, 5.9?)
    2) baseband (5.13.xx, 5.15.xx?)
    3) firmware version (3.1.3, 4.2.1?)