Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: ultran00b trying to upgrade to iOS 4

iPhone? More like MyPhone
    Thanks

Default ultran00b trying to upgrade to iOS 4
    hey everyone... im pretty new to the iphone world so bear with me

i have an unlocked 3gs with 3.1.3 and baseband 05.12.01

is there a way i can upgrade this to iOS 4? im not entirely picky on which version (iOS 4, 4.0.1, 4.0.2, 4.1) but i know that i wanna upgrade...

i bought the phone unlocked so i dont know if it was jailbroken using spirit or something else.

please help.

Livin the iPhone Life mortopher's Avatar
    Thanks

Do you know if it's the old bootrom or new one?

3. The Following User Says Thank You to mortopher For This Useful Post:

heyyyitsjordan (2010-09-30)

Thanks

old bootrom. i followed the instructions on redmond pie on how to check.

UPDATE: i just asked the guy i bought the phone from and he said he either unlocked it using spirit, blackra1n, or jailbreakme.com

how do i check?
    Last edited by heyyyitsjordan; 2010-09-30 at 06:15 AM.

Thanks

If you need the unlock still then your best choice is to upgrade to 4.0/4.0.1 (assuming the shsh blobs are on file), hacktivating it, and then using jailbreakme.com to jailbreak it followed by installing ultrasn0w via cydia to unlock it again.

6. The Following User Says Thank You to mortopher For This Useful Post:

Thanks

is there a tutorial on how i can do all that? like upgrade to 4.0.1 and check the shsh blobs?

You've got to be careful going the custom firmware route. If it was jailbroken with spirit then you will need to install the spirit2pwn patch from the woowiz repo. For blackrain then this isn't necessary, but I don't think it can be JB with blackrain as that was for 3.1.2.

It could be JB with jailbreakme, do you get a line of pixels on boot and a slow boot?