Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Stuck and lost

Unhappy Stuck and lost
    Hi. This is my first time on the forums.

I'm on T-mobile and my old phone took a trip through the washer and dryer

Since I needed a new phone, I decided what the hey and focused on getting an iphone off CraigsList. Found a seller for a 3G running 4.0.2. I did some basic research on unlocks and concluded that it was possible to unlock this thing, so I went ahead and bought it.
    I used jailbreakme to successfully jailbreak but when it came for the unlock, I was having no luck. Finally loaded up fuzzyband, and it showed my baseband as 05.14.02 and bootloader six-point-something.

So what I think was that the seller upgraded to 4.1 one point in time and then downgraded/restored to factory conditions for the sale (maybe he's on the forums here too). Does this mean I'm stuck along with the rest of the folks that updated their 3G to 4.1? How long has it generally been once the jailbreak comes out that a unlock is released? I've seen some people that claim that the new baseband has no exploits and so is very likely never able to be unlocked. A general estimate would be nice. If the seller did downgrade from 4.1 to 4.0.2, is it possible that the SHSH was saved and a baseband downgrade to be done? Would snowbreeze work?
    What about this article: http://www.machackpc.com/iphone/3g/p...s-4-04-0-14-1/

I still need a phone in the interim. I tried it out with my friend's AT&T SIM card and it works fine, so I was wondering if it was possible to just call up AT&T and get them to put a pay-as-you-go plan on the sim that came with the phone until the devs can work things out. Is this possible? I don't need data at the moment, just functional calling and voicemail.
    Last edited by dawumyster; 2010-09-29 at 05:19 PM.

Thanks
    Thanked 2,764 Times in 2,652 Posts