Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Unlock and Jailbreak HELP PLZ

What's Jailbreak?
    Thanks

Default Unlock and Jailbreak HELP PLZ
    Ok, I am new to this whole unlocking and jailbreaking thing. I just decided to do this and need a little help. Here is what I am working with.

Phone 3Gs
    Version 3.1.3 (7E18)
    Firmware 05.12.01
    Old base band.... i think (the 4th and 5th number are below 40)

I have read through some of the forums and guides on how to do this, but from what i am gathering, i am going to need to do this with wifi. That's a little bit of a problem where i am located. I am deployed to Afghanastan and do not have the capabilities to utilize WiFi. Is there a way that i can go around the wifi issue and do this. Please help. Thank you in advance.

Just use RedSnow to jailbreak. As for unlock, I honestly don't know how you would go about doing that.

Good Luck!
    --Taco

No, don't use Redsnow, that won't work.

You should double check your bootrom properly to avoid any doubt before do this:

Once done, jailbreak with spirit on www.spiritjb.com (you need an old version of itunes (like 9.0).
    Next, go into cydia and add repo http://repo.woowiz.net and then run spirit2pwn.
    Finally, create a custom firmware with snowbreeze/pwnagetool (4.0 is just fine) or download a custom firmware and do a shift+restore using the custom firmware. Then unlock with ultrasnow.

Here's the link for how to check bootrom properly:

How to Check iPhone 3GS New Bootrom / Old Bootrom (iBoot) Version | Redmond Pie

BTW, your 3rd number needs to be 9 if you are using the serial number method.
    Last edited by eyeRobot; 2010-09-19 at 11:04 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost

4. The Following User Says Thank You to eyeRobot For This Useful Post:

mle_ibrahim (2010-09-20)

What's Jailbreak?
    Thanks