Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: iPhone 3GS unlock? Activate? Tether? I need someone good to run through this with me

What's Jailbreak?
    Thanks

Default iPhone 3GS unlock? Activate? Tether? I need someone good to run through this with me
    Ok I have an iPhone 3GS. Its on 3.1.3, 16Gb, so shsh's saved for 3.1.2, jailbroken with spirit, old bootrom. I would like this iPhone to be usable. And by that I mean that I would like to make calls and text on it, and I would like internet acces wherever I can get service. But I am a little new to this.

I have a brand new Rogers SIM card. I will pay to activate it but after that I dont want to spend any more money. Can I unlock my iPhone? Do I need to? What if I tether it? Can I do that and not pay money? Will I get internet without WiFi? Also I would like real texting not a 'FreeText' app.

Basically I want this running like a regular iPhone but for free. I've tried to read and understand it all but its so much to take in at once, I would please like some help from you. I am willing to do all this illegal stuff and I don't minf if I have to down/upgrade. I know it sounds like I'm just saying gimme gimme but I don't mean to. And once I learn I will be able to give back to this community.

Thank-You.

You can just install Ultrasn0w and it's unlocked! I'm not aware of why data wouldn't work, try it and see, there are other things to do if it won't work straight away.

Also:

You should be able to use spirit2pwn and go to iOS4.0 (it's not an offical release but it apparently works).

Use a custom firmware with activation and then unlock with ultrasn0w

Or:

Go back to 3.1.2 and JB with blackra1n then custom firmware to iOS4.0
    Last edited by eyeRobot; 2010-07-12 at 11:53 AM.

Livin the iPhone Life CaptainChaos's Avatar
    Thanks