Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Im sure its been asked a million times before...(3GS unlock)

Default Im sure its been asked a million times before...(3GS unlock)
    Hi everyone out there. If anyone is able to help me out I would really appreciate it. Im new with the whole unlocking/jailbreaking scene so please be kind Also any answers please if you could us layman's terms I'd really appreciate (i.e. what the heck is blackra1n?? LOL)

ANYWAY, On to my question

I have a iPhone 3GS (7E18) 3.1.3 with modem firmware 05.12.01. I used Spirit to Jailbreak it a few weeks back and its been working fine but now I am interested in unlocking it.
    My first question basically is can I unlock it and then re-lock it back without it bricking and/or anything else going wrong with it? And how do I go about doing that?
    Also, I want to upgrade to iOS 4.0, should I do that BEFORE I unlock it, or do it AFTER I relock it (if possible) or at which point in time (again, IF possible)

BTW: I am traveling for a little out of the country thats why I am unlocking it and wondering if its possible to relock it when I come back. If I cant relock it, its not a big deal as long as I can still upgrade to 4.0 with no problems.

I sincerely apologize for asking such a redundant question but I've been reading around for awhile and everything has just made me so much more confused. Also with all the terminology I don't understand any of the answers. Really any help would be great. Thanks in advance

Also, if I can't do what I'm asking, can't I just restore my phone and jailbreak it again but not with spirit but with some other program that will allow me to do what I want?
    Last edited by iphoneuser1234567; 2010-06-30 at 09:53 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost

Green Apple
    Thanks