Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: iPhone 3gs quick JB/unlock question

Green Apple
    Thanks

Default iPhone 3gs quick JB/unlock question
    Hi All,
    Newbie here, but have been researching on web for a few weeks now on Iphone info. I have a 2G iPhone 3.1.3 which is JB and unlocked and I've been using it on Tmobile prepaid (no data) for a few weeks and its working great, no issues. Now I want to give this phone to the wife for use with her Tmobile PLAN sim card to stick in (hopefully that will work) and then buy a 3GS for myself. Since its pretty hard to find a cheap 3GS that has been unlocked, not sure if I want to buy one right now. I had a 3G that I bought on ebay, but with 5 different sim cards, all I got was "no sim card installed" and stuck on emergency call screen so I luckily returned it (hopefully I'll get my refund from the guy) thinking there was something wrong with it. He was running a gophone sim on it and it worked fine before he shipped it (sent me pictures). But I think he may have restored it before shipping it by erasing all settings etc. and I think this messed something up (tried 3 prepaid sim cards, one being a gophone sim as well as 2 active at&t plan sims from buddies at work with the iphone). Anyways, with no unlock available yet for 3.1.3, won't a Gophone sim work which is prepaid and AT&T that I can use until the unlock comes out for 4.0 when its released? I was under the impression that a gophone sim will work even if the iphone is NOT unlocked. I tried the gophone sim in my 2g and I get bars right away. But will this sim work in the 3GS without an unlock? I know there are probably literally thousands of people SOL until 4.0 comes out and the unlock would follow so why wouldn't everybody who can't use their phone just get a gophone acct. in the meantime? Of course there would be a new phone # but you'd still have service...maybe I'm missing something. Once the unlock will be out for 4.0, I cou