Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: updating unloced iphone 3g

Default updating unloced iphone 3g
    hey!

I am new to all this stuff. I recently had a motorola razr2 v9 which i used to mod off and on. I was reading however that if you have an unlocked iphone and you try to update it, it may lock.

I bought my iphone at a retailer here in Trinidad (caribbean) and im not sure if i can use itunes to update it with the new 3.0 software.

Also on cydia, if i use upgrades e.g. "ultrasnOw', is that ok? or wuld my phonoe lock?

Your iPhone is currently unlocked? Do you have Cydia? If you do not then you may have a factory unlocked iPhone. That means that you can update that with no worries.
    If I helped you, then hit the "Thanks!" button please.

Quote Originally Posted by Soodeh View Post
    I can't find Cydia on app store

IT is uocked but has cydia. What do I do then?

Then when you update to 3.0 or 3.0.1 it will be re-locked. You can still jailbreak it with redsn0w 0.8 and unlock it with Ultrasn0w 0.9

Ok but wat are the odds of that working? and do the guides have the info on how to do that?

If you do it right. Apprx. 100%. I've never heard of someone who cannot unlock their phone. They might've thought that but it ends up being that they were doing something wrong.

hmm ok thanks.

btw does jailbreak means unlocked?

Can u please post the links for jailbreak it with redsn0w 0.8 and unlock it with Ultrasn0w 0.9, after updating?

And if i have an iphone 3g, does that mean my firmware is 3.0?
    Last edited by handsomemuzz; 2009-08-09 at 09:27 PM.

Thanks
    Thanked 12,540 Times in 7,596 Posts

Restoring is always an option if you make an error while trying to jailbreak and unlock so no worries.
    Here is a link that will have all the info you need including step by step instructions, pics and all the files you may need.
    Last edited by Bo Troxell; 2009-08-09 at 09:33 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost