Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Not able to install Custom firmware for iphone 3g

What's Jailbreak?
    Thanks

Unhappy Not able to install Custom firmware for iphone 3g
    i just got a new iphone 3g and would like to unlock/activate but when ever i go for installing a custom firmware in the dfu or recovery restore mode i get the error 1600 (dfu mode) or 1604 (recovery mode).

I could install any firmware in the normal mode as it used to ask for simcard and activation and would let me proceed any how.

i am totally new to the iphone3g firmware and i think that the basemband should hav been some issue..please some1 could guide me..thnx..

Thanks

If you "just got a new iPhone 3G", there's a 99.9999999% chance you have the 5.09 (aka 5.9) or higher bootloader. You CAN'T install custom firmware, and you CAN'T unlock it. PERIOD. See my thread:

UNLOCKING ANSWERS - read this before posting your questions!

Item 2 applies (since you "just got a new iPhone 3G", you *must* have bought it after January 2009.)

^Thats not true, you can most certainly jailbreak it and install a custom FW.

You'll need to run quickpwn first....as the iphone wont accept a custom FW if its never been jailbroken before.

Thanks

He said he wants to unlock & activate. Almost guaranteed that he has 2.30.03 baseband / 5.09 bootloader (hence the errors.) Ergo, he can't do either, custom firmware or not.

^Yeah he probably cant unlock......

But you stated he cant install a custom firmware, which he can do.

Quote Originally Posted by HotStuff2 View Post
    You CAN'T install custom firmware, and you CAN'T unlock it. PERIOD.

Guess its just confusing how its worded.
    Last edited by cpjr; 2009-04-28 at 09:29 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost