Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Questions about Iphone 3g (3.1.2) on Tmobile

Default Questions about Iphone 3g (3.1.2) on Tmobile
    Hi, I am new to this whole thing and have googled and searched alot but all the answers I find arent direct and misleading.

I have a Iphone 3g (3.1.2) running on T-Mobile. I have the unlimited tzones internet on my plan.

Now my questions were:

Is it better to have the unlimited tzones (wap.voicestream) on my plan or the android internet/3g internet (epc.voicestream) and just use that internet in EDGE? Also watcs the difference between the two as far as the iphone is concerned between epc.voicestream and wap.voicestream.

The second question was, the gps doesnt work in Google Maps when I click my location it says your location cannot be found. Does that have anything to do with it being on tmobile? I read that the GPS has nothing to do with it but then why wont it work? Do I have something disabled that I dont know about? I also tried XGPS from Cydia but that one doesnt work either and acts weird. On XGPS which GPS do I use for tmobile? (When u go into gps settings theres a list to choose from)

Those were the only few questions I have, the phone works great its an awesome thing to have but I miss my gps and turn by turn from google maps that I had on my MyTouch 3g lol

Retired Moderator
    Thanks
    Thanked 2,202 Times in 1,924 Posts

There is no difference between the two types of internet plans. They both work the same, you just have to pay more for the other because T-Mobile makes people think the smartphone data plan is different/better. It really isn't, I've had both and the cheaper one is the same as the more expensive one.

Also, Google maps does not rely on GPS it relies on EDGE. You can try inserting in the APN another such as

internet2.voicestream.com

or

epc.tmobile.com

and see if Google maps picks up on those instead of the wap.voicestream.com.