Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Have T-mobile. Applecare still valid if I DFU restore?

Thanks

Default Have T-mobile. Applecare still valid if I DFU restore?
    Hey guys, I'm new to the iphone and the iphone community. I have a few questions. I bought an immaculate condition iphone from a girl: 3G 16GB black and no scratches. It has 3.0 software and I jailbroke/unlocked with ultrasn0w with no problems and phone is working fine with no problems. Anyways...

1) Main issue I want to know: Warranty expires July 10, 2009 and this phone is almost a year old. I was thinking about buying applecare from wal-mart since they sell it. If I ever needed to take it in for repair, I would fully restore it with itunes 8.2 to factory settings. I already fully restored my cousin's iphone which was unlocked/jailbroken using the DFU restore on itunes.

I used redsn0w 7.2/ultrasn0w only to be able to use it on T-mobile and I am not downloading anything from cydia. On my cousin's iphone, I downloaded cyrecorder, winterboard, etc...and I believe winterboard slowed down the iphone a lot and it was terrible so I tried to restore within the iphone but it brought up the constant apple logo reboot screen. so i fully restored it.

Will apple ever detect that I jailbroke/unlocked? After the full restore, has anyone been able to successfully get warranty service without them hassling you under applecare?

I still have the AT&T sim card from the girl I bought the iphone from so I could use it to activate the iphone whenever after I DFU restore it.

2) I've read numerous posts but couldn't get a straight answer. How long would an iphone battery last to it gets to the point where you have to keep it connected to a power source at all times and it needs a replacement? Considering its under moderate use (phone calls, wifi, using nursing/medical drug applications, occasionally playing light games).