Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Bevel effect on icons

Default Bevel effect on icons
    im trying to make my first ever theme and im learning as i go along. basically, im having trouble applying a bevel effect onto my icons using the Auto-skin method. im not very good with photoshop but i do know the very basics. but this is beyond me. i've tried a few different ways but with no success.

i have managed to apply a bevel look to a few icons, but i would like the icons to be auto skined.
    this is the normal icon looks like.
    and this is how i like it to look.....
    it's just a simple bevel effect using photoshop. i've included a .psd of this icon so that you can see the what i have done. it's very basic but effective i think.

after a lot of searching and asking, i've found an icon pack that looks similar to what im after (iSweet4.0). the pack also includes the .psd file that was used to make the icons (included below). but yet again, my inexperience with photoshop shines through. how do i use this .psd to auto skin the icons or even to apply to the icons that i will have to make for the theme?

i would be most grateful if someone could help me on this.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Livin the iPhone Life seann33uk's Avatar
    Thanks

you need to set it ask a mask.
    Tho not sure if masks more for ALL icons. i know you can do a basic mask for all appstore icons but you may have to individually add it for all others.
    Being an i can be a lot of pressure. you have to live right up to the small point.

Quote Originally Posted by seann33uk View Post
    Tho not sure if masks more for ALL icons. i know you can do a basic mask for all appstore icons but you may have to individually add it for all others.
    thanks for the reply.