Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Is there a complete walkthrough for newbies who have jailbroken the Iphone 3G?

Default Is there a complete walkthrough for newbies who have jailbroken the Iphone 3G?
    From reading online, I cant seem to find much. Most of the walkthroughs deal with if you already have knowledge of programing or jail breaking.

I am totally new to this. I jail broke and downloaded some apps just by googling info. It would be helpful if I could find a nice tutorial that explains step by step things, like how to use Cydia, in basic newbie terms, all you can do with your Iphone now that it is jail broken, how to get software on, how to customize your Iphone, ect.

I can find most of it, Im sure, by Googleing but if it was all in one place, written by the same person it would be more helpfull. Harder to understand if its all scattered about.

Livin the iPhone Life
    Thanks

How to Use Cydia: A Walkthrough : App Advice

thats kind of an intro. I'd say you are best off just searching around cydia and reading the "more info tab" they will usually have a good description of what the download does. also searching on youtube is helpful as people will have tutorials showing you exactly what they are doing so you just follow along. There is so much you can do with cydia its hard to make a one tutorial covers everything.

My iPhone is a Part of Me Chefanim's Avatar
    Thanks

Cydia is simple to use, and most of the apps there provide enough information to determine what they are used for.

Open Cydia, wait for it to reload, then go to the 'sections' tab on the bottom. then just browse through and get what is relevant to you.

or

you can use the search function and look for things there.

Basically, what you download depends on what you want to do to the phone.

a few things I would recommend from Cydia are:

SBSettings