Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Unique jailbreak question

Default Unique jailbreak question
    Hello,

I am a total newb to this, so bear with me. My girlfriend thought she destroyed her 3G iphone by dropping it into the water. So she went out and bought a new 3GS. She gave me her 3G to take apart. I dried it out and it now works.

I think she had upgraded to the latest 3.1 previously.
    My intentions were to just use the phone as an itouch.

I have her old ATT SIM card, and used Redsnow to jailbreak to this ispw file: iPhone1,2_3.0_7A341_Restore using the guide at iClarified - iPhone - How to Jailbreak Your iPhone 3GS on OS 3.0.x Using RedSn0w (Windows).

It took me a while as I was getting errors with Redsnow on my Vista machine, but after running as admin, and not installing ICY it is now working. I can use the iPhone, I can sync it with iTunes.

The problem: I have no WIFI, bluetooth, and nothing is listed when I look at the modem firmware under the settings, about tab. So I cannot get on the internet using the iPhone because the WIFI is greyed out. I can connect to iTunes, and download apps from there and use them.

Don't know where to go from here.

Scott

Thanks
    Thanked 12,540 Times in 7,596 Posts

Welcome to MMi,
    If you are familiar with SSH you can try this method, works awesome.
    Otherwise you can also go here. Both methods will work , but since you have no wifi or internet ability you will have to do the first method. Good luck.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Bo Troxell For This Useful Post:

drscottdo (2009-10-07)

So I am totally not familiar with SSH. In investigating, it states I need to install WinSCP. When I checked on WinSCP, the guide to use it to connect to the phone with USB states I need iphone tunnel suite. Well I cannot get that program without my virus scanner going crazy due to trojan virus. So I am stuck. Any ideas?
    Scott