Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: error 6- help appreciated!

Default error 6- help appreciated!
    hi, I am very new at this. I followed all the directions on a guide and I got up to the part where you restore the iPhone. Everything runs according to the guide, but in the end, I get error 6.

Much thanks in advance to everyone who can help!

What firmware are you jailbreaking? What program are you using to jailbreak?
    Dirty as I wanna be!

I am using winpwn2.0.0.4

Did you make sure to pwn iTunes before restoring to the custom firmware?
    Dirty as I wanna be!

yea I get a pop up saying iTunes has been pawned.

Are you absolutely positive you are in DFU restore mode? Screen is completely black?
    Dirty as I wanna be!

I press power and home button, wait for sound, release power, wait for sound, and then release home.

can you give me the link to the correct guide, just in case the one I used is outdated?
    Last edited by dreamxlove; 2008-08-13 at 05:43 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost

Hold both the home + sleep/wake button for 10 seconds. Then release the sleep/wake button while still holding the home button. When you hear iTunes recognize your phone in recovery then let go of the home button.
    Dirty as I wanna be!

Ok i jailbroke my 3G on the first try. i followed the bigboss tutorial, i would post link but cant find it. this is what i did different then the time i tried about a week ago and got the error from itunes.
    when i clicked on IPSW Builder and clicked on the propper firmware. the IPSW builder window poppep up.
    on APPLICATIONS i checked Cydia, and Installer 2.0. on CUSTOM IMAGES you check what you want. on CUSTOM PAYLOAD i left it unchecked and did nothing to that.
    on ADVANCED i unchecked Activate Phone and left everything Unchecked (if you are activated with AT&T then you have to leave everything unchecked)
    now on PARTITION RESIZER i set it to 550MB..