Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Total noob that wishes to restore to 1.1.4

Default Total noob that wishes to restore to 1.1.4
    Hey there,

Well, my iPhone (Original not 3G) arrived this morning which I bought on eBay and it has been unlocked and jailbroken for all networks etc.
    Don't start having a go at me for not buying the latest iPhone because this particular phone was good value.

I am using O2 PAYG (Yeah I'm British), I'm also wondering if I upgrade to 1.1.4 (NOT jailbroken or unlocked or even if I upgrade to 2.0) will PAYG still work with it?

Basically, I have no idea where to go from here, and I must put it back to official firmware because currently it is experiencing that common WiFi fault where it doesn't find the host on Safari or Installer (Uses same core stack of Safari App).

It's modem firmware is 04.04.05_G.

That's about all I can tell you.

Yes I realize that the new PwnageTool is coming but I'm guessing that I will still have to the phone on an official Apple FW to upgrade it to the jailbroken 2.0.

I have no idea what program was used to jailbreak and unlock it so I have no idea about the baseband.

Software platform does not matter for me as I have both OSX Leopard and Vista on my Macbook.

Please help a 15 year old noob before he goes off on vacation?

Thanks a million

Sorry, I'm a total noob to the iPhone (And hacking scene).
    Last edited by HammyHavoc; 2008-07-16 at 09:03 PM. Reason: Adding more info.

If you hold shift when clicking restore in itunes, you can search your computer for the firmware to restore back to. An easy google search will help you find 1.1.4 download.

After putting the phone in recovery mode, hit restore and wait. You can google hot to get to recovery mode too. But once your in recovery mode, no turning back. When done, use one of the unlocking programs such as Pwnage Tool, WinPwn (same as Pwnage but for windows), iLiberty+, or Ziphone.