Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Jailbreakme.com and now have big problems

Default Jailbreakme.com and now have big problems
    Hi, i am new to jailbreaking. I have always wanted to change my theme and use veency. I was running 4.3.3 on my iphone 4 and found Jailbreak.Me and decided to give it a whirl. I changed my root password but failed to change the user password as I was not aware of it until a week later. The bottom line is my yahoo account was accessed in Netherlands and in India. Spam messages were sent to all my yahoo contacts. My apple ID was also accessed and changed. Who knows what else is to come. I have been working hard to change all my passwords and such and verifying password recovery options were not changed. I have my iphone turned off until I sort out how to proceed. I really want to keep my jailbroke phone despite all this trouble.
    Can anyone tell me the best way to proceed?

Livin the iPhone Life
    Thanks

You need to install the pdf patch 2 from cydia for that jailbreak or any jailbreak for that matter on 4.3.3 fw. What this does is close off the pdf security exploit and still allow you have your device jailbroken.

This was highly recommended by the devs so you wouldn't have problems with other people accessing your device as this was a huge security flaw and has already been patched by Apple in a newer fw update.
    Last edited by ihappy; 2011-07-27 at 04:52 PM.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to ihappy For This Useful Post:

JOHNTHEGREEN (2011-07-28)

Hi, thanks. I installed the PDF Patch 2 from cydia. Now, if someone had been able to access my iphone through the security flaw, will they still have access after the PDF Patch 2 was installed or will it cut them off? Thanks again, John

Thanks
    Thanked 1,182 Times in 915 Posts

Well the official site is jailbreakme.com not jailbreak.me

I would restore and use the correct site. Change all passwords that you use.