Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: 3.1.3 jailbreak question

Default 3.1.3 jailbreak question
    I am fairly new to jailbreaking and have some questions.

I purchased my iPhone last summer and have kept up with the Apple updates. I am currently running my jailbroken iPhone 3GS on 3.1.2. I used blackra1n to jailbreak my device. However, I do have some apps that I cannot sync to my device now as they require 3.1.3. I have created a custom ipsw firmware file with sn0wbreeze.

Is this an untethered jailbreak? Has anyone done this successfully? Theoretically I can just "restore" to my custom firmware and be done with it, correct?

Yes, I know I should just search, but I'm at work and don't want to spend a lot of time just browsing right now.

If your current jailbreak is untethered, then this one will be too. You either have the old iBoot or you don't. Blackra1n vs Snowbreeze has nothing to do with your iBoot.

ahhh...Thanks Beez...

well, this is definitely an untethered JB and I am pretty sure it's the old bootrom. I have not touched it since loading the 3.1.2 firmware from Apple and then JB'ing with blackra1n.

so, in theory, I can just load my custom 3.1.3 ipsw firmware created with sn0wbreeze and have an untethered 3.1.3 JB... Or should I wait for the new version of blackra1n and then load the Apple firmware and re-jb? Hmmm...

In theory, yep, that should be it.

My old iPhone was old iBoot like yours, and I had to load a 3.1.3 CFW onto it, and it loaded without issue. (But AT&T swore the phone was bad!Turned out to be a routing issue, the phone was fine, however they made me exchange it for a new one that has the new iBoot. It made me sad )

Quote Originally Posted by BumbleBeez View Post
    In theory, yep, that should be it.