Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Japanese Iphone

Default Japanese Iphone
    Hi people

I wasn't sure which forum to post in, so please excuse me if I made a bad choice.

I'm a total noob regarding Mac and iPods, so I hope somebody will take the time to bare with me m(__ __)m

I'm waiting for my white iPhone from the secondary batch here in Tokyo. The stores are dry, but if you ask nicely enough in polite japanese while bowing profusely, they give you a form to fill in and then call you a day before they get some more iphone from Softbank's HQ.

The deal here is about USD85 for a full web access, including the iPhone price over a 24 (26?) Months contract.

For some reason, the Touch didn't have a huge impact on me a while back, probably because wi-fi hotspots are like urban legends in tokyo... there should be some, but nobody knows where. We used to have some at Starburcks, but (no flamming intended) american residents would stay 4-5 hours there, leeching on the free connection while barely drinking anything past the first Small coffee-of-the-day, so the chain stopped the service nation-wide. Good job.

Anyways, a couple weeks ago, my best japanese friend showed me her iphone, and told me she had been waiting 2 years to get one, and now she hadn't slept in 4 days, toying with her day and night. Since then, everywhere I go I'm finding myself sitting next to a iPhone owner, happily smiling my way while caressing his iPhone in public There SHOULDN'T be so many of them around, but I guess I'm attracting them.

Being new to this, I find myself a bit confused about this jailbreak thingy...
    here in Japan, we only have one provider available, Softbank, former Vodafone. So I guess, in that aspect, jailbreaking is useless, right?
    What I'm worried about is whether I'll be able to use Skype Out (or similar services) and to tether my iPhone to my laptop without jailbreaking.