Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Macbook Confidential

Thanks

Default Macbook Confidential
    No warning, no preparatons when my Macbook gets 24-20-10% there are no warnings like I got on my Powerbook and ibook. Oh yes it still turns red but no box telling me its going to run on reserve power and shut down. Is this normal? Is this a malfunction? or a setting unchecked please.... help please help.....

Thanks

What version of OSX are you running? My Macbook gives the reserve power warning, I don't get any earlier warnings though. I am relatively new to Mac's myself and usually run my macbook on ac power. A quick search on Google led me to believe that your batter my be losing some of its capacity. In othe rwords a full charge isnt really a full charge and OSX doenst know that. So OSX may think you have 20% left but you really dont. You can try resetting the power management controller.

1. If the computer is on, turn it off.
    2. Disconnect the AC Adapter and remove the computer's battery.
    3. Press and hold the power button for 5 seconds and then release the button.
    4. Reconnect the battery and AC Adapter.
    5. Press the power button to restart the computer

Thanks

I'm running Leopard 10.5.6

Thanks

Try the power management reset I outlined in my previous post and see if that helps.

ya it only shows a warning when its at like 10 min left

Thanks

One more question-On my Powerbook 17" when I watch a movie or dvd and fall asleep while the movies plays and finishes and wake up the next morning the sleep light has a faint blink and when I plug in the power cord it turns on without me pressing the power buttton. Isn't the macbook suppose to do the same thing? Should the macbook cut off but stay in low level sleep mode untili plug the charger on instead of me pressing the power button?

yes it should

it sounds like there is somthing wierd going on with your macbook

check the energy saver area

Thanks