Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Need to restore 4.2.6

Default Need to restore 4.2.6
    Hi guys I am new to the iPhone scene. Had Winmo devices for years. Knew all the ins and outs of those but this thing is a bit different! I got mine the day they came and Jailbroke it a week or two later using Greenpoison. After I installed Cydia I remember it asking a question about storing something on their server to make life easier. I guess it stored my SHSH (whatever that is).

The start of my problems. I plugged my phone into a Transactive Mobile loudspeaker that has a built in ipod dock at my sonís gymnastics school. I got a message about this device isn't fully supported, blah, blah.... After clicking away from the message it wouldn't play through the mobile PA loudspeaker. Undock and the sound came back. Her iPhone will play but mine wouldn't; go figure.

The big issue. Since then my earpiece speaker sounds buzzy and crackly if the sound is above 4 clicks. Kinda like the input level is too high and clipping before it hits the amplifier. Everything else sounds fine. I want to restore my phone but I want to restore it back to 4.2.6 like whatís on it now and rebreak with Greenpoison.

How do I restore back to the same 4.2.6. I read that apple stopped signing 4.2.6. This signing thing, isn't that why Cydia wanted to store something? If so, can someone point my in the right direction for some directions on how to restore without having to upgrade? I tried searching but the search feature failed to even find results on 4.2.6

I want to see if a clean firmware load will straighten it out before taking it to the Genius bar and ending up with a new phone at 4.2.8. I can't live without my sbsettings and myWi.

Thanks,

Thanks
    Thanked 17,645 Times in 8,025 Posts

Download tiny umbrella and press save SHSH with your device connected. That will tell you firmware you can restore to.