Results 1 to 5 of 5

Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.


Thread: Question about 4.0 Jailbreak/Update

  1. #1
    Default Question about 4.0 Jailbreak/Update
    First of all, will 4.0 delete my apps if I am running 3.1.2 jailbroken?
    I want to update to 4.0 but not if it will delete my jailbroken apps. Then I was going to use JailbreakMe to jailbreak 4.0.

    Thanks in advance
    -PT1

  2. #2
    Livin the iPhone Life seann33uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Some where in the milkyway
    Posts
    1,314
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 127 Times in 115 Posts

    well in order to "update"you have to restore your phone to the new firmware... so yes you will lose your Jb apps... unless you have backed them up with rock backup or with PKGbackup app. it's same with anything.. you restore something you're going to lose data. UNLESS you've backed up
    Being an i can be a lot of pressure. you have to live right up to the small point.

  3. #3
    Yes it will delete your jailbreak apps. But the ones you have paid for can be redownloaded by signing into cydia as you did when you bought them.
    If you download pkgbackup this will save all jailbreak apps into a string on your contacts ( you will need to sync contacts before update) then feel free to update you phone sync contacts and app store apps. Then redownload pkgbackup and open the app and it will download all previous apps.
    Please note not all previous cydia apps work on 4.0 or 4.0.1 yet.

  4. #4
    Thanks, but what do you mean sync the contacts? With mobile me? Again I have an iPod touch.

  5. #5
    Sorry didn't realise you had an iPod. I don't think pkgbackup works with iPod but I may be wrong. I you download rock and make an account or login this has the same type of thing that backs up all jailbreak apps. Then once your updated redownload rock from cydia and login and download all apps.
    Hope this helps.

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •