Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Beginner Windows Iphone Developer?

Question Beginner Windows Iphone Developer?
    I am interested in learning about Iphone development, but I have no knowledge nor experience in programming at all.

I am a quick learner if someone could point me in the right direction of an online tutorial or a good book to start?

I know Stanford has free tutorials I can download from Itunes, but I do not have a Mac and was wondering what I would need to learn to use Windows instead? Would I be able to download and use those tutorials for Windows?

I know a Mac is the best for development, but if it's possible to learn and use Windows instead I would prefer that for the time being as we just bought a new laptop and wouldn't be able to upgrade to a Mac anytime soon...

Roscoe my beautiful blue pittie puppy

I want to know the exact same thing. Please help us out?

What's Jailbreak?
    Thanks

The tools that you are going to use are all native to the Mac OS X environment. The SDK is downloaded from the dev site with xCode, the apple developmental program, and all of the APIs that come with it, as well as all of the programs for simulation and debugging and the ladder are all mac based. I think while it's incredible that someone with no knowledge wants to learn to program for the iPhone. I think it's incredibly unwise to venture into territory without the proper tools. No reason to try and become a car repair man if you only have the tools to work on home repairs. I don't mean to be so down, just saying if you wanna start out, you may consider getting a mac to use. Some find the $999 macbook is quite nice while others find the mac mini to be very capable. I hope all works out for you, whatever you may decide. Feel free to post more questions, or PM me directly if you have any questions for me

What's Jailbreak?
    Thanks