Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: MMS proxy for ATT [for use with SwirlyMMS]

Default MMS proxy for ATT [for use with SwirlyMMS]
    Hey there everybodies,

im pretty new to the scene, pretty new to the phone, barely messed with developing... however, i have recently just got finished successfully compiling, configuring, setting up, and using an actual MMS proxy that the iPhone 3G appears to work well with, using SwirlyMMS on ATT.

Thus far my tests have established that the MMS proxy is capable of sending MMS using the full phone's email address. I know i know, this is just sending mail, you can just use mobile mail, blah blah, the fact is that the actual message, image, recipient, headers, etc actually got processed in a usable MMS fashion.

However, it is not capable, thus far, of sending MMS to actual phone numbers. This is the cornerstone for it obviously, but this is also where my research and testing is falling short. My guess is that to send MMS or any form of SMS messaging, some sort of actual crazy device is needed or something for the actual server? This area is the big gray area for me.

Again, currently I am capable of connecting from the iPhone to the MMS proxy using SwirlyMMS and am capable of sending MMS messages if/when the full phone email address is used. My test was from the iPhone on ATT to the MMS proxy to a windows mobile phone on Verizon using [email protected]

So if anyone is interested in assisting me with getting this up and working with real phone numbers, if its even possible, i am interested in hosting an MMS proxy for the public (i think). I have the server means and such, i just need someone to join me that knows more about MMS and its setup.