Page 439 of 613 FirstFirst ... 339389429437438439440441449489539 ... LastLast
Results 8,761 to 8,780 of 12259

Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: UniAW7

Thanks
    Thanked 16,463 Times in 7,695 Posts

Default UniAW7
    If Yahoo Place Finder continues to be a pain in the azz.. WW can probably be changed to use GoogleMaps API for location. The weather data itself, that WW2 hooks into from iOS 9's use of weather.com, is still working perfectly. It's only the expanded location data WW2 grabs from YahooPlaceFinder that's been on the fritz from our 'favorite' Yahoo... Uggh.

Google Maps free (and no API key need) API never goes down. It's the centerpiece of my UltimateLocation iWidget I've been tweaking for the last 18 months. And talk about "expanded location data"... Google absolutely blows away YahooPlaceFinder for location data. Totally free API too. Maybe it's time to switch..

2. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to NewD For This Useful Post:

bliken (2016-01-20), nik1975 (2016-01-20)

I thought WW2 got the location straight from the device.
    I have seen no issues with city name here in the Philippines.

Thanks

Default UniAW7
    Quote Originally Posted by ;7346666
    I have seen no issues with city name here in the Philippines.
    Weird. You don't see "TBD" in your city field in UniAW7?

This is what many are reporting seeing this am.

Thanks

Default UniAW7
    Quote Originally Posted by ;7346666
    Not really. iOS grabs less info from Weather.com for its Weather.app. I think King_O_Hill and SDDev wanted more expanded location data than weather.com offered so WW2 grabs that from a better Yahoo feed than we were using in the "locale" days. Somehow WW2 taps into YahooPlaceFinder - Yahoo's attempt at a GoogleMaps - fuller location info feed. I think that's how the story goes. KOH will correct me if I'm wrong..
    Last edited by NewD; 2016-01-20 at 02:35 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by NewD View Post