Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: iPhone 4 - Serious Problems Created By A Noob.

Default iPhone 4 - Serious Problems Created By A Noob.
    Hi all I know this is my first post here but I have previously been a member of other forums so I know and understand the etiquette, including spending some time as an Administrator of the forum-based logo design team DesignComplete. I think they are now inactive however we did have a good 2 year stretch designing logos and signatures for gamers in their forums. I am new to phone modification as I have never had the money to play around with this stuff in case I were to brick my phone, as I fear I have done with this one.

I purchased an iPhone 4 the other day from eBay on the basis that it was a spares/repairs with an error 21 message. No other information such as history was provided. After some research I purchased a new battery from Amazon feeling this was the most probable cause of the error. I connected the iPhone to iTunes to confirm the symptoms of the phone. It would only power on when connected via USB, it showed the Recovery Mode screen (USB connector with an arrow to iTunes) and when attempting to restore gave the error 2001 (Mac) and 21 (Windows).

The phone had some other issues such as sponey lock button and home button so I spent the last few days repairing these. The lock button is now okay thanks to a make shift spacer, however I feel the home button may be broken. As it took a few days to carry out the repairs with the time available to me to dedicate to it the phone has lay dismantled on my desk for some time.