Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Are apple capable of preventing cracked apps?

Default Are apple capable of preventing cracked apps?
    Hi everyone

I am a Jailbreak user, and have tried **********, but I don't use it. I like to buy apps as I am a PC programmer.

If I were to go into ********** and download a crack of Angry Birds (for example) and install it. When an update is released it will appear on the App Store that I need to update it. If I try update it will ask be to pay for it.

If Apple can check all my Apps installed on my iPhone and realize that I haven't paid for the App then why can't Apple record my serial and report me or remove warrenty? They must have a database of all my purchases from my Apple ID?

I can't get my head round it? Many companies like Navigon, Rovio, and other developers have lost a lot of money from cracked apps.

Surely Apple CAN put a stop to this?

Retired Moderator
    Thanks
    Thanked 2,202 Times in 1,924 Posts

There are companies who develop apps who have anti-piracy security in place which work pretty well.

Usually it consists of showing the user a screen to not download an illegal version and disable any further function of the app. Unfortunately there are not enough companies who implement this feature. I find that it would be up to the developer to put security on their apps, as Apple probably wouldn't be the one to implement it into each and every submitted app. It can be done, I am sure of it, but I think the effort must be made by the developer just bc of how many apps are out there and how Apple alone probably cant get to them all. That's my thoughts on it.

Thanks

Making a piracy-proof binary is like making an indestructible building or a jam-proof firearm: it ain't happening. It's a perpetual cat-and-mouse game.