Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: 1st time jail breaker - updating an already jail broken phone - help please!

Default 1st time jail breaker - updating an already jail broken phone - help please!
    Hi

Ok, so i'm after some advice, i'm a bit of a newbie so would REALLY appreciate 'help for dummies' type advice! I'll try to be as clear as I can on this post and will answer any questions I have missed as and when asked.

I purchased a nearly new, jail broken iphone 3gs late last year which was jail broken at software version 4.1 as far as I can tell by looking at the 'about' page in the settings. As far as I can see it is now possible to jailbreak 4.2.1, and the latest version is 4.3.5?

If I plug my phone into itunes and let it do the update, I believe i'll lose the jailbroken aspect of my phone, however it will be updated to 4.3.5.

I assume I need to downgrade it to 4.2.1, then jail break it?

If i'm right, please could someone tell me how i go about doing this, and if i'm wrong, again, please advise! I have looked about at redsn0w and greenpois0n, and have found a site called jailbreakme.com if this helps you guys at all?

Thanks, I really do appreciate it

i may have over complicated things here, all I need to know really is how to get my phone from it's current 4.1 firmware to the latest jail broken version. I have never tried anything of the sort but am not afraid to try it with clear instructions, cheers guys!

My iPhone is a Part of Me xtacy's Avatar
    Thanks

Open cydia and tell me if there are numbers in green on top of it's homepage.

Livin the iPhone Life R.Mortera's Avatar
    Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by indy3050 View Post
    i may have over complicated things here, all I need to know really is how to get my phone from it's current 4.1 firmware to the latest jail broken version. I have never tried anything of the sort but am not afraid to try it with clear instructions, cheers guys!