Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Is my 3GS hacktivated or activated?

Default Is my 3GS hacktivated or activated?
    Hello,

I bought a used 3GS, and realized too late it is a jailbroken & unlocked one, because mostly it works fine (I'm an iPhone noob). So I read a lot of forums and tried to understand all that stuff...

It's an 8GB model, sold january 2011, FW is 4.3.3 and baseband is the iPad one, 06.15.00.
    GPS doesn't work, but push notifications do. No trouble syncing with iTunes.

Since I read a lot about problems with hacktivated 06.15.00-phones (battery drain, mobile data transmissions, heat), I'd like to find out if my 3GS was regularly activated or hacktivated. In case of the latter, I'd want to use SAM - but I wouldn't want to undo a regular activation.
    Is there any way to find out about that? Does SAM tell me?

Thanks a lot for your hints!

-- Some more info on the device:
    iPhone 3GS 8GB
    Jan 2011
    Vodafone netlock, I use Eplus (German providers)
    FW 4.3.3 (8J2)
    baseband 06.15.00
    stored SHSH: 4.1, 4.3.3, 4.3.4, 4.3.5
    unlocked via ultrasn0w 1.2.3
    no pushdoctor or similar app installed

Ok, I downloaded SAM to find out about the hacktivation/activation state of my phone.
    Installed & opened SAM, and it says: "WildcardActivated". On the utilities page it reads "Push Utils: Disabled".

Since I didn't make SAM do anything, does this mean that my 3GS was activated with a genuine Sim? So it has none of the push certificate related problems?

And, can I uninstall SAM again with no risk?

Thank you!

Livin the iPhone Life
    Thanks

If a phone is activated with an official SIM, PUSH should be working. Likely it's hactivated.
    A non-working PUSH is a very common problem with battery drain.
    It's OK to uninstall SAM and start over. If you have an authorized-SIM, that's the best way.

Quote Originally Posted by Mes View Post