Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: iphone 3GS unlock/jailbreak solution for a newbie

Default iphone 3GS unlock/jailbreak solution for a newbie
    Hi,

This is my first posting here and I'm a newbie with iphone jb and unlock. Pardon me if my questions were answered previously but I searched for my specific issue and couldn't find a thread. I own a iphone 3G S with 3.1.2 (7D11), Model: MB717LL and Firmware: 05.11.07. I have jailbroken my iphone using blackra1n RC3 with tethered jailbreak and all is good. I'm running Backgrounder to run skype in the background and it gets really hot when skype runs in the background. I wanted to upgrade to the newest version 4.3.3 without losing the ability to jailbreak and also unlock. It seems Comex has released a PDF exploit untethered jailbreak for 4.3.3 devices. So, how do I proceed? If I unlock with my currrent iphone state as is now, will my iphone be still in unlocked state even after upgrading to 4.3.3? I think Apple is feverishly working on patching the PDF exploit jb. I want to act quickly to move up to 4.3.3, jb and also unlock. I have already heard of tinyumbrella to preserve SHSH files (I'm seeing 3 of them now after running them).

Please explain me what I need to do in easy steps.

Appreciate reply.

Thanks.

My iPhone is a Part of Me
    Thanks

Do not update with a stock firmware! You will need a custom firmware in order to keep your unlockable firmware!
    If I helped you in any way, please click on the button!

Thanks

DO NOT UPDATE USING APPLE'S STOCK FIRMWARE. Because your Baseband 05.11.07 is unlockable! In order to preserve your Baseband to the next iOS Firmware, download ...
    sn0wbreeze [windows]
    pwnage tool [mac]

You MUST always use Custom Firmware to keep your baseband. If you DID accidentally updated your Firmware, then you need to install the 06.15.00 Baseband.
    Twitter | @infinitypark003
    YouTube Channel | Infinitypark003

Retired Moderator