Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Help with Iphone 3GS SW upgrade. I apologize for the lengthly post

Default Help with Iphone 3GS SW upgrade. I apologize for the lengthly post
    I'm new to this so, please bare with me if I appear too needy. I didn't see any fresh posts on this, most were dated in 2010 and I know this stuff changes at Apple's whim.

Here's my current baseline. Jailbroken iPhone 3GS running 3.1.3, unlocked BB 5.12.01 Windows XP Pro Machine. All working fine except I can't run some of the newer APPS designed for 4.0 and up.

Yesterday I spent 5 hours trying to upgrade the SW to 4.2.1 as my brother loaded this version and his Jailbroken and unlocked iPhone works fine. It didn't work and it appeared I trashed my phone. Somehow it reverted back to the 3.1.3 settings. I don't know how or why?

Here is what I did yesterday. Synced phone on iTunes. Checked for a back up file on iTunes. I then ran the iPhone 4.2.1 IPSW on SnObreeze 2.2.1 which, output a modified IPSW file and prompted me to put the phone in program mode. I then ran iTunes and and pointed iTunes to the modified IPSW file via a shift/restore, without success. I received a 3194 error. After some research, I added the 74.208.105.171 gs.apple.com line to my host file, rebooted the computer, which did not allow the restore as I still received the 3194 error. I repeated the whole process, with a newly downloaded IPSW file and a new copy of SnObreeze thinking one or both might have been damaged. Same result.

After joining this forum this morning, I noted that Tiny Umbrella might be the answer. I just downloaded it and ran it. After running it, it appeared it saved my HSHS(?) files to Cydia as it gave me a summary of all the IOS versions, and only 4.2, 4.3.3 and I think 5 something were check marked in green. I then assume I am good to go to upgrade to either 4.2 or 4.3.3?