Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: How far can I go with 2g iphone and keep the unlock?

Default How far can I go with 2g iphone and keep the unlock?
    Hi, I'm a new member but have been reading these forums for a while.

I have been searching for a long time now for a definitive answer, so far I have only found sketchy info.

So, the big question is, what version firmware can my 2g iphone be upgraded to keeping the unlock, and how (exactly, I'm no expert) do I go about it?

2g 8gig iphone
    Firmware: 3.1.2 (7D11)
    Model: MB213B
    Modem firmware: 04.05.04_G
    PC: Windows 7

I have downloaded the latest version of ipsw I can find which is iPhone1,1_3.1.3_7E18_Restore.ipsw (googled jailbroken ipsw) but would prefer a link to a known firmware if required.

The phone was unlocked years ago using Ziphone, and has since had upgraded firmware which has kept the unlock. But since the 3g, most support discussion for 2g's has faded leaving me unsure of a way forward.

Not sure if relevant but it will have a virgin mobile sim installed.

All help and advice appreciated.

Thanks

You can go all the way to the highest firmware (3.1.3--"7E18") on the 2G and you will remain permanently unlocked. If your iPhone is unlocked via BootNeuter (the last, if not only, major tool released for the 04.05.04_G baseband), then you have what is essentially a carrier unlock. I suspect you have this unlock, so upgrade with impunity (if you don't, redsn0w or PwnageTool will handle the permanent unlock for you on first boot).

The official 3.1.3 IPSW can be downloaded from Apple here.

I wouldn't move up to 3.1.3 (from .2) unless you have a very specific need for it (such as an app you use requiring 3.1.3), but if you have to, the easiest routes would be either restore to a custom PwnageTool firmware (PwnageTool... 3.1.5 I think) or restore to a stock IPSW and then run redsn0w (0.9.4) to jailbreak.