Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Pwnge tool vs others

Default Pwnge tool vs others
    Whats the difference of... say Pwnge tool versus others like greenp0ison? Is it a difference in a quality of jailbreaking or what?

pwnage tool is basically for preserving baseband for unlockers other than that not really IMO

Sorry I'm new to all these terms. Could you explain what you just said? Ha sorry and thanks for the quick reply.

Livin the iPhone Life
    Thanks

With Pwnage, Cydia apps can be included (aka OpenSSH) along with the ipsw. Another option can make the root partion larger (u will know if u need it (haha)).

No baseband update is the primary use --- and REQUIRED for unlockers (any SIM use)

5. The Following User Says Thank You to Mes For This Useful Post:

DevouredDreams (2010-11-23)

do you depend on an unlock? if you do pwnage tool for mac or sn0wbreeze for windows creates a custom firmware so you can upgrade without updating your baseband(baseband updates patches the unlock) so your not locked to the carrier the phone came with. as far as greep0ison, limera1n, blackra1n, spirit,jailbreakme.com etc. it jailbreaks the specific firmware you are on and it was made for greenpoison(firmware 4.0.2-4.1) limera1n(firmware 4.0.2-4.1) blackrain(firmware 3.1.2) Spirit(firmware 3.1.3) Jailbreakme.com(firmware 4.0-4.0.1) i would mention other but might as well call firmware under 3.1.2 obsolete

Quote Originally Posted by silent six View Post