Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: IPhone not working after syncing to ITunes

Default IPhone not working after syncing to ITunes
    Hi everyone

I am a little technically challenged so please bear with me. Here is my problem. I have a iPhone that I bought in the US and got jailbroken and unlocked in India. I was trying to get some songs into the iPod app on the iPhone. When I synced the iPhone with iTunes, it asked me if the software should be updated. To which I clicked yes. Once the software was updated iTunes said that I should get an authorised sim card and that the current sim (DOCOMO) is not recognized. The screen that I see when I press the "home" button only says "slide for emergency". I am not very technically accomplished and don't know what's wrong. Please could someone tell me what I should do to get my iPhone working again with my DOCOMO sim.

Thanks in advance

Madhu

Thanks
    Thanked 17,645 Times in 8,025 Posts

If you updated to 4.1 then that means you locked your phone and there is no unlock for it yet (may be one next week depending on what iphone you have). To get past the emergency screen you can use limera1n or greenpoison to jailbreak and activate. Once done install cydia and wait for the new unlock to come out.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Simon For This Useful Post:

madhu.setlur (2010-11-14)

What iPhone is it?
    You should never update the FW on a software unlocked phone unless you know what you are doing.
    He who asks a question looks foolish for 5 minutes. He who doesn't ask a question remains foolish forever.

It's an iPhone 3G. How can I find out what firmware the phone has been updated with?

Same problem
    Now what do i do ?

Thanks
    Thanked 12,540 Times in 7,596 Posts

Quote Originally Posted by madhu.setlur View Post
    It's an iPhone 3G. How can I find out what firmware the phone has been updated with?
    Settings/General/About/
    Version= is the firmware or OS.