Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Upgrade Advice for 3G 8GB??

Default Upgrade Advice for 3G 8GB??
    Have been running 3.1.2 since I got my jailbroken phone about 8 months ago. T-mobile is my carrier.

Just wondering what the most useful upgrade level would be for me as I'm basically a newb and sometimes get lost in some of the technical discussion when reading about new OS for iPhone. Once I'm secure on which OS I should upgrade to, I will do a search in here for instructions even I can understand.

Thanks for your help!!!!

Thanks
    Thanked 2,764 Times in 2,652 Posts

If you have a Mac, you can restore to custom fw of 4.1 created by Pwnage tools.
    OR For PC
    You can run ireb 4.1 and build a custom firmware of 4.1 from Snowbreeze 2.0.2 , make sure you don't activate the custom fw when building the firmware to avoid other problems.
    Use ireb 4.1 to put you into DFU mode and shift + restore to cfw of 4.1

Thanks Yeow.

For those of us with limited technical abilities (most of what you said in your post is a foreign language to me), is there a good walkthrough in the forums for what you're suggesting? Using a PC platform.

Thanks again!

Retired Moderator
    Thanks
    Thanked 2,202 Times in 1,924 Posts

I can break it down for you, it's very simple. Drawing from Yeow's instructions, I'll go from there. Since you have Windows, we will go the sn0wbreeze route.

1) download a stock 4.1 ipsw. Go to felixbruns.de on your computer and download it.

2) download Sn0wbreeze 2.0.2. Go to iH8sn0w from your pc and download it.

3) download iReb. You can find it at iH8sn0w.com too.

4) make sure your iTunes is updated.

5) Open Sn0wbreeze and select the stock 4.1 ipsw you downloaded.