Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: 2G reboot and cydia problems! ALSO NEED BASIC HELP!

What's Jailbreak?
    Thanks

Default 2G reboot and cydia problems! ALSO NEED BASIC HELP!
    Hi,
    first off, I am a simple normal mac enthusiast and iphone newbie, and all this SHSH talk and root talk is chinese to me and giving me a headache. Pls just assume I am a noob. A general idiot's guide to iphone would be helpful, is there such a thing?

HERE IS THE PROBLEM:
    got an iphone 2g from a friend, unlocked/jailbroke it with the insructions i found here
    How to Jailbreak/Unlock 3.1.3 iPhone 2G Windows & OS X

worked like a charm, then got service today on Tmobile and was generally happy to play with my new toy. However, the cydia app is causing major trouble now as its stuck on "loading data" endlessly (when it finally stops I have to click okay on the error message and it tries to load again)!!!

concrete questions:
    A) how do i FORCE QUIT AN APP (ie CYDIA)? it seems bizarre to me that any app can seemingly run on forever... found some basic instruction with holding the home button 6 secs that didn't work.

B) how do I fix this cydia app issue? do i have to restore the whole iphone, and if so does that mean jailbreak again? I rebooted the phone, didnt work.

C) the jailbreak above seems a lil outdated perhaps? Cydia seems to cause issues lately from other threads i stumbled across (one IT expert ranted about them releasing flawed software). What is this program good for? is there a guide on how to use it? is there any HELP function for iphones?

D) is there a better way to jailbreak than above?

F) how do I access the system files in iphone ie shh? this is a great community but for newbies like me overwhelming, ie see idiots guide to iphone above would be really good :-)?

Thanks in advance for any help!