Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Newbie looking to upgrade/unlock

Default Newbie looking to upgrade/unlock
    Hi all, I'm extremely new to all this and am looking for some advice... I currently have a jailbroken iPhone 4 (only reason I've gotten this far is because of the ease of jalbreakme.com) currently on software 4.0.1 and am looking to upgrade and eventually unlock (taking a trip to Europe, would like to be able to plug in a SIM card while I'm there).

I'm just looking for some advice on how to upgrade... which program should I use, should I wait for 4.2, what should I use to unlock, etc.

Any advice is appreciated, I searched around the forums for quite some time but I wasn't 100% sure on what route to take, figured bugging you all with my own post was my best option. Many thanks!
    Last edited by j3st3r; 2010-11-03 at 07:44 PM. Reason: removing reference to pirated apps

I can't give you a guide because I don't have the phone 4, but if you upgrade you will need to use the tool the preserves your baseband. Upgrading without doing that will block you from unlocking. Also your apps data with be stored in your backups you just can't install them again until you jailbreak.

Also I would be careful throwing out certain words like a******** ; might get you in trouble. Also the fewer that use it the better.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to phatcamaro For This Useful Post:

aduke0783 (2010-11-03)

Cool, thanks for the advice... I'll try to do some more research on that (or if someone who knows about iPhone 4 could let me know, then awesome).

Thanks for the suggestion regarding site-that-shall-not-be-named... I see that it has already been edited out of my original post. Like I said, I'm new and besides not knowing how to jailbreak/unlock, I don't know all the forum rules (which I'm going to go brush up on now). Will be more careful in the future!

do you run a mac?

Quote Originally Posted by moon#pie View Post