Results 1 to 3 of 3

Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.


Thread: PwnageTool clarification needed.

  1. #1
    Green Apple
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    All over the world!
    Posts
    75
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Default PwnageTool clarification needed.
    Hello MMi,

    I need some clarification on the usage of PwnageTool 4.1 as reading around the forums has thrown me into an abashed state of mind.

    1. I have a 3G[S] NEW bootroom running iOS 4.0.1 with jailbreakme and 5.13.04 baseband unlocked with ultrasn0w.

    2. Is it possible to use pwnagetool on my NEW bootrom 3gs to install a custom firmware? IIRC, it can only be used on the old boots.

    3. Will using pwnagetool result in a wiping of my iPhone? I have some very important contacts and apps on my phone (which I use to track drug interactions between patients) so if need be, please help me out on how to backup all this.

    4. Does the pwnagetool 4.1 include hacktivation? I'm overseas for another 2 years at least!

    Reguards
    Dr.Xanax

  2. #2
    Retired Moderator iYeow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    13,996
    Thanks
    76
    Thanked 2,764 Times in 2,652 Posts

    Pwnage tools 4.1 works for new and old bootroms of 3GS . Every restore will wipe out everything so back it with pkgbackup via iTunes. It does hactivation . Not sure about any bugs tho..

  3. #3
    iPhoneaholic
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    NE Mississippi
    Posts
    381
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 40 Times in 37 Posts

    For the contact, make sure you have a google account set up as a MS exchange account. Even if you don't use the gmail portion, it can sync contacts. Backing up your phone in iTunes will save your contacts and apps too. Once you create a custom firmware with pwnage and restore in iTunes, you can then restore from a backup (which you made right before you restored the firmware). So yes, you'll lose the apps and contacts until you restore the backup in iTunes.

    It's a little confusing because there are two different restores. Restoring the firmware is the first, which you MUST use the custom firmware you made if you want to keep the unlock. Restoring the backup of your iPhone is the second, and this does not affect the firmware or the baseband. Once you've jailbroken and everything, itunes will ask if you want to set up the iPhone as a new iPhone or restore it from a backup. This is where you pick the backup you made right before the firmware restore.

    The older pwnage only worked on the old bootrom. The one just released handles both.

    Hope I didn't confuse you more!

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •