Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Need some help with ipsw files on Mac for new PwnageTool!

Default Need some help with ipsw files on Mac for new PwnageTool!
    Hey guys,

I just got the new PwnageTool, this is my first time running Mac OS so I'm a bit newb in this department.

I downloaded the ipsw's from iclarified but in my MAC finder they just display as folders. (They seemed to download as iPhone2,1blabla.ipsw.zip)

If I try to run expert mode I cannot select "open" when the folder is selected and if I rename them to ".ipsw" it says "Wrong Firmware Bundle Selected". If I try to run simple mode it says "No ipsw's found".

How do I get PwnageTool to recognize these ipsws?

Thanks

Thanks

you need to redownload them using chrome or firefox, do not use safari to download an ipsw file...

I just figured that one out, I dragged the file out of the trash can and renamed it from .zip to .ipsw. PwnageTool recognized the file and started building the ipsw, but it's taking FOREVER (since I'm running it on vmware I guess)...

Does anyone have experience doing this and how long it takes to build the ipsw? I gotta have this done in 2 hours :S

EDIT - ok it finally finished the ipsw building, took about 45 minutes. Not looking forward to the restore process haha ^_^

EDIT 2 - also before I restore, does anyone know which button I would press on a windows keyboard to do the "shift+restore" on PwnageTool running via VMware? I'm not sure if I'm supposed to press shift or alt (in Mac OS I think you press "option+restore"? I don't want to accidentally restore to 4.1 :S

Is there any way to test this without using iTunes?
    Last edited by bellyfrog; 2010-10-21 at 12:50 AM.

Isn't the Pwnage tool just for macs? I didn't think there was a windows version?

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by stiverphoto View Post
    Isn't the Pwnage tool just for macs? I didn't think there was a windows version?