Results 1 to 16 of 16

Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.


Thread: 3GS Brand New 4.02 - f0recast: Only with SHSH Blobs

  1. #1
    Default 3GS Brand New 4.02 - f0recast: Only with SHSH Blobs
    Hi all,

    New to this forum but quite senior with iPhone jailbreak / unlock etc.

    I got my iPhone replaced new with 3GS 32 iOS 4.02, never been jailbroken etc.

    Tried to jailbreak with limera1n and greenpois0n with no limera1n or cydia respectively ...

    Tried to run f0recast on my iPhone and it gives the following message under Jailbreakable: Only with SHSH Blobs
    Screen shot attached .

    I understand the meaning (no blobs since it's brand new) but have no clue how to proceed from this point in order to get it jailbroken successfully.

    Shall I wait for 4.1 no baseband firmware ?
    Shall I try to save the blobs with tinyunbrella ? Is it there at all ?

    Please advise . Thanks much .
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails -f0recast.jpg  

  2. #2
    Livin the iPhone Life
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    2,830
    Thanks
    76
    Thanked 382 Times in 368 Posts

    f0recast hasn't been updated so that's why it gives you false information. Limera1n works on your device. If it didn't, try again.

    If you need to unlock, wait until the updated pwnagetool is released and then make a custom firmware. Don't simply restore/upgrade to stock 4.1 as you will lose the unlock.
    We're all just toymakers in the game of life.

  3. #3
    Thanks !

    It didn't work on my device. Tried more then 10 times.
    No Limera1n icon after jailbreake process finished .

    Any ideas how to make it work ?

  4. #4
    Livin the iPhone Life
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    2,830
    Thanks
    76
    Thanked 382 Times in 368 Posts

    Quote Originally Posted by ofiredri View Post
    Thanks !

    It didn't work on my device. Tried more then 10 times.
    No Limera1n icon after jailbreake process finished .

    Any ideas how to make it work ?
    Did you redownload it? It has gone through quite a lot of beta versions. The one on the site now is out of beta. Restore again before attempting it.
    We're all just toymakers in the game of life.

  5. #5
    Will it let me restoring to the same version with shift + Restore ?

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by ofiredri View Post
    Hi all,


    I got my iPhone replaced new with 3GS 32 iOS 4.02, never been jailbroken etc.

    Tried to jailbreak with limera1n and greenpois0n with no limera1n or cydia respectively ...


    Please advise . Thanks much .
    Correct me if I'm wrong but, isn't limera1n and greenpois0n for iOS 4.1 only.

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by sirlance0505 View Post
    Correct me if I'm wrong but, isn't limera1n and greenpois0n for iOS 4.1 only.
    limera1n and greenpois0n are good for iOS 4.x

  8. #8
    Retired Moderator iYeow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    13,996
    Thanks
    76
    Thanked 2,764 Times in 2,652 Posts

    You have the factory unlocked, so you can restore to 4.1 again and jailbreak with GP, make sure you have the latest itunes

  9. #9
    dhamien, yes I redownloaded the latest version and the icon is still not added.

    As for the unlock, my phone is locked to AT&T even though f0recast says otherwise.

    Thank u all and I need more suggestions.

  10. #10
    Livin the iPhone Life
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    2,830
    Thanks
    76
    Thanked 382 Times in 368 Posts

    Quote Originally Posted by ofiredri View Post
    limera1n and greenpois0n are good for iOS 4.x
    Only Limera1n works for all iOS 4 versions. Greenpois0n only works for 4.1 so stick to using just limera1n if you're at 4.0.2 still.

    I'm not really sure what else to try. I have no idea why it wouldn't work. The usual stuff to try is giving it a shot on another computer.

    By the way, iTunes should be running the whole time. Just let it stay open and don't click the popup messages.
    We're all just toymakers in the game of life.

  11. #11
    Okay, I managed to get the Limera1n icon shown .
    This is what I did :

    1) Installed iPhoneBrowser on my computer . Available for download here : Downloads - iphonebrowser - Project Hosting on Google Code
    2) Launched iPhoneBrowser with the iPhone connected .
    3) Browsed to var/mobile/library/caches and deleted com.apple.mobile.installation.plist
    4) Restarted the iPhone and immediately after, limera1n icon was there.
    5) Installed Cydia and unlocked successfully.

    iPhone now operational with phone capabilities .

    Thank you all for your suggestions . Me happy ;-)
    Last edited by ofiredri; 2010-10-18 at 09:04 AM.

  12. #12
    Thanks for coming back and posting how you solved the problem Gonna bookmark this for future reference

  13. #13
    Retired Moderator iYeow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    13,996
    Thanks
    76
    Thanked 2,764 Times in 2,652 Posts

    How do you use iphonebrowser if you don't ssh into the iPhone. You don't have Cydia icon in the first place, how can you use mobileterminal to generate the keys. I have not used iphonebrowser before, so wondering how you got around it.

  14. #14
    Quote Originally Posted by yeow202 View Post
    How do you use iphonebrowser if you don't ssh into the iPhone. You don't have Cydia icon in the first place, how can you use mobileterminal to generate the keys. I have not used iphonebrowser before, so wondering how you got around it.
    It was my first time using the iPhoneBrowser application.
    I usually browse the files with WinSCP and openssh installed.

    You are basically right with your point, but I didn't have to get Cydia or openssh installed in order to browse and delete the file with iPhoneBrowser.

    Not sure how iPhoneBrowser works without openssh but it worked, not only for me but for others who experienced no Cydia icon (not limera1n). That said, I guess I'm not unique, just that iPhoneBrowser is different and more capable.

  15. The Following User Says Thank You to ofiredri For This Useful Post:

    iYeow (2010-10-18)

  16. #15
    Retired Moderator iYeow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    13,996
    Thanks
    76
    Thanked 2,764 Times in 2,652 Posts

    Thank for sharing tihis info

  17. #16
    Livin the iPhone Life
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    2,830
    Thanks
    76
    Thanked 382 Times in 368 Posts

    OpenSSH isn't needed for connecting with programs such as iPhonebrowser and iFunbox. It does need afc2 however, but Geo included that in the later revisions of limera1n.
    We're all just toymakers in the game of life.

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •