Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Why Jailreak Solution(s) Before Unlock????

Default Why Jailreak Solution(s) Before Unlock????
    Congrats to the people that released the Jailbreak solutions over the last couple of days.

I admit I am fairly new to the iPhone world (coming recently from the Blackberry side)and am not any longer really concerned with the unlock process as I recently purchased a Apple unlocked iPhone 4 that came with iOS 4.1. However, I would think that with all the people all over the world waiting to upgrade to iOS 4.1 and subsequent and need unlocked phones on various carriers, that the community would be more interested in helping all of them with an unlock so they could once again use their phones, before jailbreaking to what seems to me simply the ability to get Apps from Cydia instead of Apple. Don't get me wrong, I have used Apps from Cydia in the past and am not condeming it, just wondering why things are evolving as they are????

Is it because the developers of the Jailbreak are also the ones supplying most of the (pay for) Apps on Cydia? Again not against this, they did the work, they should reap the profits! But if this is the case, then are the jailbreak developers actually doing it for profit, not as much as a service to the iPhone community?

Again, not being critical but curious..................

R...

MuscleNerd tweeted this morning that a carrier unlock should be released to coincide with the release of 4.2

you have to been jailbroken to unlock. jailbreak comes first, then unlock.

Thanks
    Thanked 1,681 Times in 1,159 Posts

Big Boss - Why Jailbreak?
    Unlocking is only one item on this long list.

Right. Jailbreak is the ability tl run unsigned apps. The unlock "app" is unsigned, Therefore u must be jailbroken to run the app.