Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Total noob to ipods and jailbreaking, some questions...

Thanks

Question Total noob to ipods and jailbreaking, some questions...
    I just got an iPod 4G, its the first iPod I have ever owned. It came with iOS 4.1.

I have been trying to Google this information for hours, but have not been able to find this information, and most of the sites just link back to the iphone dev blog.

1. First of all, this SHSH Blob thing, while I know what it is, I am a bit confused on backing it up. There appear to be more than one program to do it. Do I need iTunes installed to use it? (I only have iTunes installed on my mac, I really don't like installing it on my Windows systems). I also noticed that some programs apparently back it up to a server, is that really safe for someone else to know my SHSH Blob? Should I back it up before or after I jailbreak?

2. As far as I am aware, currently the only thing that can jailbreak my iPod is limera1n right? Is it stable yet? (I remember hearing reports of it not working or being very unstable/buggy). Anything else I should know? I assume that I can't use this to jailbreak my device until a mac version is out since I don't want to install iTunes on windows correct?

3. I can undo any and all hacks if I need to take the device in for warranty service right?

4. What happens if a new firmware (that obviously will have the jailbreak patched) is released before I jailbreak my device? Will iTunes force me to download it or can I reject it? Will the app store, iTunes, gamecenter, or anything else like that reject my iPod if it is not updated to the latest firmware?

5. Does iTunes attempt to update my iPod automatically or do I need to manually allow it? I fits automatic, can I disable it?