Results 1 to 6 of 6

Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.


Thread: Self Confessed Noob Seeks Advice

  1. #1
    Question Self Confessed Noob Seeks Advice
    Hi. I got my IPhone 3G with 3.1.3 second hand a while back and immediately got it unlocked / jailbroken at my local phone shop so that I could use my 3 sim card and all was fine. Since the new firmware has came out though, I haven't dared connect the phone to my computer as I have been told that if I sync it with iTunes, it will update the firmware automatically and also relock the phone. Is this true? And if so, are there ways around it?

    Many thanks. Trevor

  2. #2
    If you connect it to itunes it will ask you if you want to upgrade, all you have to do is click cancel. You can still sync it but it will ask you every time you connect it if you want to upgrade to 4.1. If you update it though it will lock the phone to at&t and there is no way to unlock\jailbreak 4.1 yet.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Evan_ For This Useful Post:

    ZombieTrev (2010-09-09)

  4. #3
    Retired Moderator stlcaddie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Saint Louis, MO
    Posts
    1,088
    Thanks
    140
    Thanked 128 Times in 90 Posts

    Well said Evan, thanks for the quick response.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to stlcaddie For This Useful Post:

    Evan_ (2010-09-09)

  6. #4
    Ok. Thank you for the speedy reply

  7. #5
    Retired Moderator j3st3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    2,447
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 405 Times in 395 Posts

    if you will download but not install the 4.1 update it will quit asking you every time you start iTunes

  8. #6
    Retired Moderator Orby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Omicron Persei Eight
    Posts
    5,851
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 699 Times in 594 Posts

    Quote Originally Posted by j3st3r3 View Post
    if you will download but not install the 4.1 update it will quit asking you every time you start iTunes
    That or just hit "Cancel" and click the "don't ask again" box. Less chance of a catastrophe that way.

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •