Results 1 to 13 of 13

Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.


Thread: WiFi Sync has corrupted my iPhone :( - 3GS 3.1.2 JB with blackra1n

  1. #1
    Default WiFi Sync has corrupted my iPhone :( - 3GS 3.1.2 JB with blackra1n
    Hi all,

    WiFi Sync never really worked for me. I tried time and time again, iTunes or my iPhone would either hang or I would get some kind of error on iTunes stating that the iPhone could not be backed up because it disconnected and a plethora of other random messages.

    I decided to try it one more time last night.

    I left it alone for an hour to let it sync and do its thing. When I got back, ofcourse it had not worked. So, I plugged my iPhone into the USB to manually sync with iTunes.

    This is where the problem begins. I get the iTunes screen of death: "An iPhone has previously been synced with this computer. Setup as New/Restore from Backup" (luckily I did a proper manual backup just a few hours earlier anyway so I had that listed as an option to restore from.

    My question is how can I avoid restoring from backup and somehow override this situation and allow iTunes to recognize my iPhone once again? Has something on my phone or iTunes been corrupted?

    I really do NOT want to lose my jailbreak. I had over 60 JB apps installed (and discovered PkgBackup just today after trying to figure out a solution ). I have alot of data and settings associated with my JB apps and could not dream of re-configuring everything all over again. I have had the JB for about 8 months and as you can all imagine have done alot to my phone with blackra1n.

    Please help me with any solutions. I have rebooted my computer and iPhone plenty of times, removed WiFi Sync from my phone and computer etc to no avail.

    Also, if all else fails and I DO have to restore from backup - I will be losing my jb won't I? And will I be forced to update to new firmware?

    Thankyou all so much for your help. I wish I had invested in PkgBackup much earlier but this is my situation and now and I cannot undo it

    Cheers and appreciate any help at all.
    Last edited by dh0licious; 2010-08-06 at 12:38 PM.

  2. #2
    iPhoneaholic
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Bridlington, England
    Posts
    383
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 49 Times in 46 Posts

    Have you tried taking all your iTunes stuff off (music, videos etc.) and then do a fresh sync?

  3. #3
    Beg your pardon? :s

  4. #4
    iPhoneaholic
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Bridlington, England
    Posts
    383
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 49 Times in 46 Posts

    Never mind, just re-read it, have you got another pc to try and see if it will connect to that 1?

  5. #5
    Yes I do, but if it does connect will it try to automatically sync to that iTunes or will I be prompted before anything happens?

  6. #6
    iPhoneaholic
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Bridlington, England
    Posts
    383
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 49 Times in 46 Posts

    It should say when it tries to sync that it is already synced to another library (aka iTunes) and it will give you 2 options, pick erase and sync (don't worry, no jailbroken apps will be deleted)

  7. #7
    So I connect it to the other computer, select erase and sync (but what is it syncing to now), and this will not have to jailbreak?

    And then I connect it to my original pc and restore from the backup there?

    This scares me a little...

  8. #8
    iPhoneaholic
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Bridlington, England
    Posts
    383
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 49 Times in 46 Posts

    No don't restore from backup, because that could be the problem, and don't be scared, I've done it a few times with different iPhones and iPods

  9. #9
    But if I connect it to the second pc and then do an erase and sync, what is it going to sync to?

  10. #10
    iPhoneaholic
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Bridlington, England
    Posts
    383
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 49 Times in 46 Posts

    It will sync to that computer, so what ever is on there will be synced across

  11. #11
    1) Will restoring from backup remove my jailbreak?
    2) Will restoring from backup force me to update firmware?

  12. #12
    iPhoneaholic
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Bridlington, England
    Posts
    383
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 49 Times in 46 Posts

    No, unless you install new firmware though the restore button, but what I told you is just normal syncing

  13. #13
    What's Jailbreak?
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Westhoughton, England
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    I had problems with wi-fi sync recently. Installed it five days ago, when I came to upgrade my iPhone 3GS to iOS 4.1 so I could JB with Limera1n(connected with USB cable, not wi-fi) the phone got stuck at 60% of the upgrade and would not go any further. I had to connect to a different PC to get my iPhone back up and running again. I have since removed wi-fi sync from my PC and iPhone.

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •