Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: How to recover from spirit JB safely?

Question How to recover from spirit JB safely?
    Hello everyone,

I'm rather new to the iPhone hacking world, so I'm not too knowledgeable about which is the old bootrom or what a baseband is.

I have an iPhone 3GS 3.1.3 which I jailbroke using spirit. I bought it sometime last November at an AT&T store with a stock firmware of 3.1.1, if I remember correctly.

As you all know, iOS4.0 came out and I was working on some developments that require for me to upgrade. I'm a little worred about the upgrading process since there are several way people go on about doing this.

I hear it's not really possible to brick your iPhone, but you can lose things like MMS and the like?
    Can anyone tell me what risks are involved? (I used to do a great amount of PSP hacking back in the day, and I've seen some sad irreparable bricks, I want to make sure I don't fall in one of those pitfalls in the iPhone hacking world. I am a noob at this after all...)

I was wondering if anyone can point me to a thread/guide/how-to/tutorial on how to upgrade to iOS4 (and if possible, a way to jailbrake my phone once I get it upgraded).

I was looking at this thread, but I don't know if this is what I should try: http://modmyi.com/forums/general/716...spirit-jb.html

I also fount this: http://www.nirving.com/2010/06/25/up...-3g-to-ios4-0/

Any help would be very appreciated.

Thanks everyone!
    Last edited by kilogold; 2010-07-01 at 02:57 AM. Reason: Grammar Mistakes & Extra Info

Thanks
    Thanked 1,681 Times in 1,159 Posts

On a 3GS the only way to jailbreak 4.0 is by being jailbroken on a lower firmware with pwnage tool or redsn0w and then restoring to a custom 4.0 firmware from pwnage tool. Essentially you have to ride the jailbreak train. You cannot go from Spirit jailbreak to 4.0 pwnage.