Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: 3.1.2 to OS 4.0 & unlock 4.0

What's Jailbreak?
    Thanks

Default 3.1.2 to OS 4.0 & unlock 4.0
    hello all,
    I have a friend with an iphone 3GS unlocked and jailbroken. He knows nothing about hacking his phone and paid for some guy on craigslist to jailbreak and unlock it which he messed up and i had to fix. He wants me to upgrade the software for him if it is possible yet. The info on it are as follows: MODEL is MB_ _ _ _ _,The FIRMWARE is 5.11.07, and the VERSION is 3.1.2. Is this phone unlockable and jailbreakable to version os 4.0? Is its the os 4.0 that needs to be jailbroken or do you have to unlock the os 4.0? Since the phone is already jailbroken does it need to be jailbroken again?

Also is my phone jailbreakable? My info is as follows: Model: MB716LL, VERSION: 4.0 (8A293), & FIRMWARE; 05.13.04. Forgive me for all the questions, I am still fairly new to doing this but am computer savy. I also have a 3GS which is currently running OS 4.0 (not jailbroken) but I have ATT so i have no need for an unlock and havent decided to crossover to the jailbreaking realm yet because im not really sure of the benefits. I had the first iPod touch when it came out and it was jailbroken and i really had no idea how to use it and after a month i sold it and bought an iPhone. Any insight from you guys out there on the pros and cons of jailbreaking what I would be able to do with a jailbroken 3GS running OS 4.0?

Thanks

if your friends phone is the old bootrom 3GS (untethered jailbreak) then as long as it was jailbroken with either redsn0w or blackra1n you can create a custom 4.0 ipsw and restore to that and will be jailbroken on 4.0 and can then get ultrasn0w from cydia to unlock