Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Confused.. I want to restore or upgrade, not sure of the best way

What's Jailbreak?
    Thanks
    Default Confused.. I want to restore or upgrade, not sure of the best way
    I bought this phone and it's pissing me off.
    Here's a little info.

Right now I have a 3gs running 3.1.3 and it's jailbroken but I'm not sure with what. The phone won't boot up. It stops on the battery logo (empty) or with the apple. I can get it to show up in itunes to where it can be restored.

I'm debating restoring it with 3.1.3 broke with sn0wbreeze or if I should do something with os 4.0

I'm not a pro at this (obviously) and I'm a little confused. This battery bug is irritating too, I've tried resetting it a million times and other things people have suggested.

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciate. Thanks in advance.

p.s. spent a lot of time on here but this is my first post. I wanted to say thanks to the people that have helped with their writing in the past.

Just a few questions before i try to help.

Have you tried the hard reset(hold sleep/wake and home down at the same time untill phone resets)?

What computer OS are you using(might be able to give you a link to a program that will get you into recovery modes)?

oh btw...go IOS4.
    HoshiGOLean

What's Jailbreak?
    Thanks
    I tried the hard reset and got nothing, it won't go past the dead battery screen.

I'm running win7 sorry I forgot to leave that out.

Thanks for helping, I've spent way too much time on this to get nothing done =)

Edit: additional information I get the 1604 unknown error when I try to restore 3.1.3, I haven't tried the 4.0 since it's a one way street.
    Last edited by Stonetz; 2010-06-25 at 04:15 AM. Reason: new info

Oh well I researched the battery logo keep coming up and found you could have a bad battery. Try leaving it on a charger for 24 hours then check it.

As far as 3.1 or 4.0...like I said...go 4.0