Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Jailbroken and thinking about going iOS4

Default Jailbroken and thinking about going iOS4
    iPhone 3GS, 3.1.3, jailbroken with Spirit. I have no idea about baseband/bootrom but as far as I know (and being that I'm a noob in the jailbreaking scene, I don't know a whole lot) that relates to unlocking the phone, correct? I don't need to unlock my phone, so that shouldn't be a concern. Is that right?

Anyway, iOS4 comes out tomorrow and as probably a few of you, I'm a little worried about what to do. Now, there probably won't be an iOS4 jailbreak for a few days, but once it's out, what would be the standard operation procedures? Restore then upgrade? Or is a restore not necessary?

And for the matter, has there been official confirmation on the situation with Spirit jailbreak and iTunes 9.2? Last I heard, you could upgrade iTunes fine if you're already jailbroken, but you can't try to use Spirit once iTunes 9.2 is installed.

What's the score right now?

I would also like to know what the best approach would be to go from spirit jailbreak 3.1.3 to 4.0.

Livin the iPhone Life
    Thanks

Wait until a new jailbreak is released, then choose the 'restore' option in iTunes. Then jailbreak with the new tool.
    We're all just toymakers in the game of life.

Quote Originally Posted by dhamien View Post
    Wait until a new jailbreak is released, then choose the 'restore' option in iTunes. Then jailbreak with the new tool.
    So my best bet is to stay on iTunes 9.1 until then?

Livin the iPhone Life
    Thanks

Well, you'll need iTunes 9.2 to install iOS4 so you'll have to go there eventually.

Well, you'll need iTunes 9.2 to install iOS4 so you'll have to go there eventually.
    I figured I needed to stay in iTunes 9.1 so I could use it to restore my jailbroken phone. I was under the impression iTunes 9.2 wreaks havoc with Spirited iPhones.