Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: 3gs upgrade 3.1.3 to iOS4GM?

Default 3gs upgrade 3.1.3 to iOS4GM?
    Hey guys,
    It's my first post, and i'm fairly new to this jailbreaking stuff.
    I have an iPhone 3Gs (new bootrom) running 3.1.3 (jailbroken with Spirit) with 05.12.01.
    I have a couple of questions:

1) If I were to upgrade to the iOS4GM firmware, would the "05.12.01" number be higher?
    2) Can I revert back to 3.1.3, harmless?
    3) Can I jailbreak my iPhone again once it is on the iOS4GM firmware?

Thank you guys for all your help!!

Thanks
    Thanked 2,764 Times in 2,652 Posts

Since you have the new bootrom, you cannot use cfw to restore from the Pwnage Bundle, therefore you have to restore to iOS4.0 whick will update your BB . You can downgrade the fw but not the BB.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to iYeow For This Useful Post:

iloveisrael (2010-06-11)

Oh, that makes alot of sense now!!

But I have one more question: let's say I upgrade to iOS4.0, and then decide that I want to go back to 3.1.3.
    1) Is this possible?
    2) Can I jailbreak it once again on 3.1.3 with Spirit (even though the BB is higher than 05.12.01)?

Thanks so much!!

1) yes
    2) yes

6. The Following User Says Thank You to jfbreese For This Useful Post:

iloveisrael (2010-06-12)

AWESOME!!!
    That's GREAT to hear!

Thanks so much you guys.

Are there any instructions on how to install ios4 and Jailbreak using windows? Is it even possible? I heard that you needed iTunes 9.2 which is not available for windows... Suggestions?

Livin the iPhone Life
    Thanks

I don't even understand why anyone would want to install it. The public release will be out in 11 days.

Because I want it now.

Livin the iPhone Life
    Thanks

I bet all your friends will think you're cool if you have it early.